lava flow
Austria 2021 15 min
Excerpt

Cosmic Jive
On Manfred Neuwirth’s "lava flow"

The work of Austrian artist Manfred Neuwirth circles persistently around the elementary. Simultaneously raw, and ethereal, earth and air seem to be the basic building blocs of many of his films. Most recently his work has been about the surprisingly intangible nuances of snow, and sea waves. Now he tackles fire as a spectacle of nature (in its interplay with rock, smoke, earth, and water): lava flow is a series of slow cross-fades of landscape views around a magma spewing volcano near Reykjavik, recorded in May 2021. With graphic precision, Neuwirth records the viscous, reptile-like flow of lava; its fire shimmering through the cracks in cooled-off, solidified rock; the spray of red-hot eruptions. He focuses on contrastive pairs, juxtaposing heat with cold, blaze with rain, organic with inorganic, close-ups with wide shots — the dramatic with the familiar.

For on location, the spectacle Neuwirth is telling about, is utterly normal: a cyclic programme, an event that is being repeated every few minutes. But lava flow is much more than a documentary of an active Icelandic volcano. It is at the same time an absolutely unpretentious contemplation on the state of the world: a work on pre- or post-Anthtropocene, a study on the absence of so-called homo sapiens, a report from beyond and before human colonisation of the earth. Hence, the volcanic motif carries mythic overtones, and, as it were, a «psychedelic» iconography. The same is true of the ambient soundtrack of Neuwirth’s longtime companion Christian Fennesz, who, as before, weaves Neuwirth’s field recordings, gathered on location, into his compositions. Something «cosmic», in the double sense of the word, lingers in these seemingly extraterrestrial images, with the music taking measure at the meditative outposts of the 1970s Krautrock scene.

In any case the sensory power of this film is tangible, with the images entering a veritable state of jittering when the lava’s heat rises up in the cold air. And despite all the seeming simplicity of the concept, lava flow is not shy for riddles, mysteries, even optical illusions. Are we looking from afar at these landscapes or are we up close? Is the frame speed reduced? Or are volcanic eruptions in fact looking like slow motion events? Those who know to tell things in utmost clarity and simplicity should hardly need worry about the complex outcomes of their work.

Stefan Grissemann

lava flow
Österreich 2021 15 min
Ausschnitt

Cosmic Jive
zu Manfred Neuwirths „lava flow“

Um Elementares kreist das Werk des Wiener Künstlers Manfred Neuwirth unaufhörlich. Erde und Luft scheinen die Grundbausteine vieler seiner Filme zu sein, urwüchsig und ätherisch zugleich; zuletzt drehten sich seine Arbeiten um die ungeahnten Nuancen des Schnees und die Spielarten des Meeres. Nun nimmt er sich das Feuer als Naturschauspiel (im Zusammenspiel mit Stein, Rauch, Boden und Wasser) vor: lava flow ist eine Serie langsamer Überblendungen von Landschaftsansichten rund um einen Magma speienden Vulkan nahe Reykjavik, aufgezeichnet im Mai 2021; mit grafischer Präzision gibt Neuwirth den zähen, reptilienhaften Strom der Lava wieder, ihr durch die Lücken im erkalteten Gestein schimmerndes Feuer, die Gischt der glühenden Eruptionen. Er stellt dabei auf Gegensatzpaare scharf, konfrontiert Wärme mit Kälte, Glut mit Regen, Organisches mit Anorganischem, Nahaufnahmen mit Totalen – und das Dramatische mit dem Alltäglichen.

Denn das Spektakel, von dem Neuwirth erzählt, ist dort, wo es sich ereignet, das Allernormalste: ein zyklisches Programm, ein Vorgang, der sich alle paar Minuten wiederholt. Aber lava flow ist eben weit mehr als bloß das Dokument eines aktiven isländischen Vulkans. Es ist zum Beispiel auch eine – denkbar unprätentiöse – Reflexion zur Lage der Welt: ein Werk des Prä- oder Posthumanismus, eine Studie in Abwesenheit des sogenannten Homo sapiens, der Bericht von einer Zeit jenseits der menschlichen Besiedelung. Das vulkanische Motiv hat somit mythische Obertöne und eine gleichsam „psychedelische“ Ikonografie; auch der von Neuwirths Langzeitkomplizen Christian Fennesz komponierte Ambient-Soundtrack, der wie gewohnt die an den Drehorten gesammelten field recordings des Filmemachers mit einwebt, scheint darauf anzuspielen. Etwas im doppelten Sinne „Kosmisches“ haftet den zart außerirdisch anmutenden Bildern und der an den meditativen Außenposten der Krautrockszene der 1970er-Jahre Maß nehmenden Musik an.

Die sinnliche Kraft dieses Films ist jedenfalls deutlich. Die Bilder beginnen über der in der kalten Luft aufsteigenden Hitze regelrecht zu zittern. Und bei aller Simplizität des Konzepts ist lava flow auch um Rätsel, Mysterien, sogar optische Täuschungen nicht verlegen. Blicken wir aus geringer oder großer Distanz auf diese Landschaften? Und ist die Bildgeschwindigkeit reduziert? Oder sehen Vulkanausbrüche tatsächlich wie Zeitlupenereignisse aus? Wer die Dinge in größtmöglicher Klar- und Einfachheit zu formulieren weiß, wird sich um die Komplexität seiner Ergebnisse kaum Sorgen machen müssen.

Stefan Grissemann